You are using an outdated browser which is not fully supported by this website. To avoid any unexpected errors please upgrade to Microsoft's Edge browser, or switch to Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

AFP Vancouver

About Us

Mission/Vision Statement

The Association for Financial Professionals (AFP) Vancouver is a not-for-profit regional treasury and finance organization that provides a forum for exchanging knowledge, experience and ideas.

We strive to provide best-in-class development, networking and industry awareness for our membership and the broader professional community.

About Us

The Association for Financial Professionals (AFP) Vancouver , formerly Treasury Management Association of Canada - British Columbia (TMAC BC) was formed in 1978. On October 27, 2010 TMAC BC at a special general meeting passed resolutions to affiliate with the Association for Financial Professionals (AFP) of Canada joining a number of other associations in affiliating with AFP of Canada. AFP of Canada is the preferred global research and advocate for financial professionals in Canada. Its mandate is to raise the stature and visibility of its members, by offering them a proven brand of products and services.

AFP Vancouver's purpose is to encourage high standards of professional development and conduct in treasury management endeavours. We strive to provide a forum for the exchange of knowledge, experience and views in matters of common interest in the treasury profession. We are a treasury and finance group dedicated to providing local treasury professionals with a forum to exchange ideas, debate current issues and examine new concepts and technologies. Our goal is to offer members networking and career development opportunities to enhance their expertise in the field of treasury management.

We hold monthly luncheon sessions featuring speakers on the latest issues in treasury and financial management including: economic outlooks, market outlooks, currency and foreign exchange, fraud and risk management, financial risk management, credit rating issues, payment processing, electronic commerce amongst a myriad of other topics. Members are encouraged to participate by asking questions and suggesting new topics of interest for future luncheon presentations.

Our membership accommodates a wide range of treasury professionals including representatives from mid-market to large corporations, crown corporations, banks, finance and trust companies, software vendors, management consultants and government organizations primarily in the Vancouver area.

About AFP® (

The Association for Financial Professionals (AFP) is the daily resource for more than 16,000 members, providing news, economic research, certification programs, networking events, analytical tools, training, and public policy representation to legislators and regulators.

Headquartered outside Washington, D.C., the Association for Financial Professionals (AFP) is the professional society that represents finance executives globally. AFP established and administers the Certified Treasury Professional and Certified Corporate FP&A Professional credentials, which set standards of excellence in finance. The quarterly AFP Corporate Cash Indicators serve as a bellwether of economic growth. The AFP Annual Conference is the largest networking event for corporate finance professionals in the world.

Board of Directors

Paula Merrier President Scotiabank
Fareen Mohan Vice President & Events Chair Eldorado Gold
Linda Cattermole Secretary TELUS
Carlo Chavarri Treasurer HSBC Bank Canada
Matthew Goldsworthy Program Chair HSBC Bank Canada
Rob Nernberg Membership Chair TD Securities
Rory Langran Past President HSBC Bank Canada
Travis Powell Communications Chair TELUS

Past Presidents

2011 - 2015 Rory Langran
2007 – 2011 Z Clifford
2006 – 2007 D Mason
2005 – 2006 J Comer
2003 – 2005 A Nichol
2001 – 2003 G Julius
1998 – 2001 A Murdock
1995 – 1998 P Atterton
1993 – 1995 A Anderson
1992 – 1993 M Millar
1990 – 1992 J E Hanbury
1989 – 1990 J H Simpson
1988 – 1989 M R Gervais
1986 – 1988 C A DaSilva
1985 – 1986 D T Price
1984 – 1985 J L Raubenheimer
1983 – 1984 Y A Ross
1982 – 1983 A Statham
1981 – 1982 E J Quan
1980 – 1981 G Ciccozzi
1979 – 1980 C Von Zuben
1978 – 1979 R Farran


Below are some links we think you may find helpful: